Enable sideloading of apps in Microsoft Teams

Update: Since writing this blog post I found this documentation from Microsoft that covers managing of apps in Teams in more details

One thing that can be a little challanging when working in the M365-sphere is that new cabalilities are added, and things change constantly. I’m currently studying for the “MS-600 Building Applications and Solutions with Microsoft 365 Core Services” certification. As a part of this I decided to get some hands on experience with apps for Microsoft Teams. But when I wanted to turn on sideloading of apps I could not find the settings that were described in the learning-module I was following.

First I turned to all developers best friend – google. But when even google couldn’t help me I started looking throug settings myself. After way too much time I finally found the correct settings! I updated the Microsoft docs (its open source – yay) and commited a pull request. But I figured I would write a short blogpost about it anyway, in case anyone else is looking for this before the docs are updated.

Enable sideloading of apps

Navigate to the Microsoft 365 Teams Admin center / App Setup policies by going to https://admin.teams.microsoft.com/policies/app-setup.

Enable sideloading of Apps in Microsoft Teams

You can set the setting in the Global profile, but I decided to create a new profile instead to only allow selected people the possibility of sideloading. You enable sideloading by setting “Upload custom apps” to “on” inside the policy you want to use.

If you created a new policy remember to add users to it by selecting the policy and “Manage users”

When this is done you can open Teams, select the Team where you want to add the app, and select Manage team. Navigate to the Apps tab where you will find the “Upload custom app” link in the bottom right corner.

You can also upload it directly from “Apps” .


Did you find this blogpost usefull? Follow me on twitter to be notified when I publish something new!

Also, if you have any feedback or questions, please let me know in the comments below. 🙂

Thank you for reading, and happy coding!

/Eli

The post Enable sideloading of apps in Microsoft Teams first appeared on A cup of dev.